Decidim, a digital commons model

Decidim, a digital commons model

Used today by 150 institutions, internationally (9 different countries) the Decidim software continues to develop by multiplying the number of use cases. Initially developed to co-construct the municipal action plan of the City of Barcelona, the software is now used by various organisations: institutions, companies, associations, groups of people, political parties, etc.

In its article published on 11 September 2019, Mission Société Numérique (Ministry of Economy and Finance and Ministry of Territorial Cohesion and Relations with Local Authorities) describes the Decidim software as ethically remarkable.
Missioned by the State, the Labo Société Numérique accompanies territories in a digital transition, lists emerging digital trends and provides a critical look at ethical, social and legal challenges.

Several points were raised, supporting the ethical soundness of the tool:

digital common representations
  • The nature of the software: a digital commons
    "Decidim is now a true digital commons. As proof of this, a growing number of public players are using Decidim internationally (in France, Finland, Belgium, Mexico, etc.) and adapting it to their uses, also attracted by the great modularity of the digital platform and the range of participatory functions offered. » ;
  • Open software governance, shared by a large community(Metadecidim);
  • The complementarity between physical and digital in participatory processes;
  • The Technopolitical nature of the project(see our article on Technopolitics)
  • Multiple participatory features, constantly reflected and developed:
DECIDIM Functionality Scheme
  • Modular digital infrastructure in response to expressed needs;
  • Software at the service of the general interest: a central point since the creation of the software, remaining at the heart of each participation process.

The tool should be " inclusive, designed to accommodate all types of audiences, modular and adjustableto facilitate implementation by different local levels, standardised to facilitate communication and re-use of information, transparent to build trustthroughout the participatory processes, and flexible enough to combine digital and physical participation devices".

Read the Mission Société Numérique article here

A growing number of platforms, a growing community

Metadecim, this platform bringing together the various contributors to Decidim, was designed to organise collective decision-making around the software. As platforms multiply internationally, this community is growing.

"Metadecidim remains the place of reference to understand the history of the project and to participate in writing its next lines.

An increasingly attractive platform by its very nature

More and more organisations are turning to technological solutions with an ethical project. It is therefore not surprising that Decidim, as a "digital commons for an ethical resource at the service of the general interest", is attracting more and more public institutions and organisations of all types.

Technopolitics for rethinking digital networks

Technopolitics for rethinking digital networks

In 2011, hundreds of thousands of Spaniards will take to the streets to protest against political inaction in the face of the economic crisis that is shaking the country. Trade unions and political parties remain paralysed in the face of this movement of unprecedented magnitude. For weeks, the Indignant people camped out and organized a mass protest alone.

In this moment of effervescence, an unprecedented reflection is emerging, renewing the relationship between politics and technology. The organization of the multiple actions of the Indignant via digital tools feeds this reflection by founding an argument that is now almost classic: Digital technologies allow citizens to organize themselves, to make their own decisions and to set their own objectives..

Apart from the classical instances of representation and expression of citizens' interests, the different tools developed by the 15M activists have enabled them to coordinate countless demonstrations and punch actions. They have created horizontal operating structures; they have succeeded in thinking about citizen engagement through the co-construction of digital networks.

This was a cardinal point in the development of these technologies; it was necessary to include all citizens. from the design stage. Give the maximum of guarantees of transparency, equality and accountability was on everyone's mind. The integration of these democratic principles at the beginning of the technical elaboration directly favoured thecritical and strategic use digital tools at the service of collective political action; what activists are still calling today the technopolitics.

Decidim, spearheading technopolitics

It is this spirit that presides, in 2016, over the creation of the Decidim project. The instigators of this project, for many of the researchers and former 15M activists, were determined to connect citizens via a tool dedicated to collaborative decision-making. The challenge was not to reproduce the 15M within the institutions more than to introduce citizens to these debates; in short, the aim was not to reproduce the 15M within the institutions more than to introduce citizens to these debates, It was necessary to create a pedagogical tool that would facilitate the engagement of citizens and make them want to go further in the quest for their own political autonomy.

In this militant intellectual context, Decidim has presented itself as the digital tool that translates technopolitics into practice by aiming at the progressive empowerment of citizens.through a Strictsocial contract and deeply democratic principles enshrined in the platform's own code of ethics.

For Open Source Politics, the stakes are high; it is a question of to preserve and spread the deeply pedagogical state of mind which founds the creation of the software while allowing its appropriation by actors who may have different objectives from 15M activists. We therefore work daily to ensure that the digital platforms we are launching introduce people to technopolitics by providing spaces for expression and discussion, mediated by a framework and objectives that are either agreed upon or left open.

Spreading a new digital culture

This is precisely what we wanted to illustrate on Decidim Day on 12 September. This day of workshops, plenaries and round tables organized by our team was a great opportunity to explain the term technopolitics to unaccustomed French ears, as well as to illustrate our own conception of this idea. 

We therefore sought to to infuse the various reflections raised by technopolitics in our own event. The inaugural plenary was to address two different approaches to the relationship between technology and politics; one with a regulatory focus developed within the National Assembly by Paula Forteza, the other built patiently and in a decentralized manner by Santiago Siri and the Democracy Earth team.

Three courses then directed the exchanges in different directions. We had the opportunity to questioning the place of the State and communities in the construction and support of digital commons, but also the relevance of the diffusion of technopolitics in the business sector and the emergence of new forms of industrial governance. A dedicated round table also discussed whether it was possible torole-play that citizens occupy and embody during participation processes. Fundamentally technopolitical, this discussion was able to get to the heart of the matter. What kind of pedagogy, what kind of accompaniment to bring citizens to grasp political issues through technology?

All this encouraged us to also discuss the emergence of a French network of local authorities generalist, in order to open up technopolitical thinking to other actors from other backgrounds. Broadening the discussion to examples of international digital tools has also contributed significantly to the completeness of the views on the subject. Finally, as pedagogy should be seen as inclusive and aimed at the widest possible audience, Open Source Politics wanted to propose workshops on the theme of "The Pedagogy of the Internet". accessibility, e-inclusion, synthesis and self-governance.

Technopolitical issues Shipyards Decidim and OSP
Processing of massive data sets and synthesis of queries Since 2017 we have been investigating the application of automatic language processing to text and data corpuses resulting from consultations. Read our articles on this subject on Medium part I and II.
Digital inclusion and accessibility Open Source Politics is a member of Mednum, the digital inclusion cooperative.
Digital Identity - OSP is developing a France Connect connector for Decidim which will be available this fall 2019. - Decidim allows the implementation of contextual identity verification systems for the action carried out by the user (vote on a participative budget) customized.
Representativeness Decidim is one of the only platforms to offer a draw module.
Decentralization and data security Decidim already offers a number of guarantees for the data that the platform generates (API, cryptographic fingerprint of proposals etc.). Within the framework of the European Decode project, Decidim has been able to experiment with blockchain technology for electronic signatures.

The critical positioning of technopolitics allows us to think and build our participation strategies and the development of Decidim according to current issues (inclusion, decentralized decision-making, etc.). It also encourages us on a daily basis to reflect on cutting-edge issues on the subject of citizen participation and to continually questioning us on the purpose of Decidim as it is conceived and developed by OSP. The Decidim Day was a success, partly because it was an opportunity to demonstrate our method and to invite our partners (present and future) to take their full part in this method, which is constantly evolving.

decidim budget participatif

Discover our

newsletter!

 

Your new monthly appointment on all the Decidim news in French and much more...

 

Congratulations! You are now subscribed to our newsletter!

Decidim, un modèle de bien commun numérique

Decidim, un modèle de bien commun numérique

Utilisé aujourd’hui par 150 institutions, à l’international (9 pays différents ) le logiciel Decidim ne cesse de se développer en multipliant les cas d’usage. Initialement développé pour co-construire le plan d’action municipale de la Ville de Barcelone, le logiciel est aujourd’hui au service d’organisations diverses : institutions, entreprises, associations, groupes de personnes, partis politiques etc.

Dans son article publié le 11 septembre 2019, Mission Société Numérique (Ministère de l’économie et des finances et Ministère de le cohésion des territoires et des relations avec les collectivités territoriales) décrit le logiciel Decidim comme remarquables d’un point de vue éthique.
Missioné par l’Etat, Le Labo Société Numérique accompagne les territoires dans une transition numérique, répertorie les tendances numériques émergentes et apporte un regard critique sur les défis éthiques, sociaux et juridiques.

Plusieurs points on été relevés, appuyant la solidité de l’outil d’un point de vu éthique :

representation communs numériques
  • La nature du logiciel : un bien commun numérique
    « Decidim s’affirme aujourd’hui comme un véritable commun numérique. Preuve en est, un nombre croissant d’acteurs publics utilisent Decidim à l’international (en France, en Finlande, en Belgique, au Mexique, etc.) et l’adaptent à leurs usages, également séduits par la grande modularité de la plateforme numérique et la palette de fonctionnalités participatives proposées. » ;
  • La gouvernance ouverte du logiciel, partagé par une vaste communauté (Metadecidim) ;
  • La complémentarité entre physique et numérique lors des processus participatifs ;
  • Le caractère Technopolitique du projet (retrouvez notre article sur la Technopolitique)
  • Les fonctionnalités participatives multiples, constamment réfléchies et développées :
Schéma fonctionnalités DECIDIM
  • L’infrastructure numérique modulaire en réponse aux besoins exprimés ;
  • Un logiciel au service de l’interêt général : point central depuis la création du logiciel, subsistant au coeur de chaque démarche de participation.

« un outil inclusif, conçu de façon à accueillir tous les types de publics, modulaire et ajustable pour faciliter sa mise en œuvre par les différents échelons locaux, standardisés pour faciliter la communication et la réutilisation des informations, transparent pour donner confiance tout au long des processus participatifs, et suffisamment souple pour combiner les dispositifs de participation numérique et physique« .

Retrouvez l’article de Mission Société Numérique ici

Des plateformes qui se multiplient, une communauté qui grandit

Metadecim, cette plateforme réunissant les différents contributeurs de Decidim a été conçue pour organiser la décision collective autour du logiciel. À mesure que les plateformes se multiplient à l’international, cette communauté grandie.

« Metadecidim demeure le lieu de référence pour comprendre l’historique du projet et participer à en écrire les prochaines lignes »

Un plateforme de plus en plus attractive de par sa nature

De plus en plus d’organisations se tournent vers des solutions technologique ayant un projet éthique. Il n’est alors pas étonnant que Decidim comme « commun numérique pour une ressource éthique au service de l’intérêt général » séduise de plus en plus d’institutions publiques et organisations de tous types.

La technopolitique pour repenser les réseaux numériques

La technopolitique pour repenser les réseaux numériques

En 2011, des centaines de milliers d’Espagnol.es, manifestent dans les rues pour protester contre l’inaction politique face à la crise économique qui secoue le pays. Les syndicats et les partis politiques restent paralysés face à ce mouvement d’une ampleur inédite. Pendant des semaines, les Indignés campent et organisent seul.es une contestation de masse.

Dans ce moment d’effervescence, une réflexion inédite naît, renouvelant les rapports entre politique et technologie. L’organisation des multiples actions des Indignés via des outils numériques nourrit cette réflexion en fondant un argument désormais presque classique : les technologies numériques autorisent les citoyen.nes à s’organiser eux-mêmes, à prendre leurs propres décisions et à fixer seul.es leurs objectifs

En dehors des instances classiques de représentation et d’expression des intérêts des citoyen.nes, les différents outils développés par les activistes du 15M leur ont permis de coordonner d’innombrables manifestations et actions coup-de-poing. Ils ont créé des structures de fonctionnement horizontales ; ils ont réussi à penser l’engagement des citoyen.nes par la co-construction de réseaux numériques.

Ce point était cardinal dans le développement de ces technologies ; il fallait inclure tous et toutes les citoyen.nes dès la conception d’un outil. Donner le maximum de garanties de transparence, d’égalité et de redevabilité était donc dans toutes les têtes. L’intégration de ces principes démocratiques au commencement de l’élaboration technique a directement favorisé l’utilisation critique et stratégique des outils numériques au service d’une action politique collective ; ce que les activistes appellent encore aujourd’hui la technopolitique.

Decidim, fer de lance de la technopolitique

C’est cet esprit qui préside, en 2016, à la création du projet Decidim. Les instigateur.trices de ce projet, pour beaucoup des chercheur.es et ancien.nes activistes du 15M, avaient la volonté de relier les citoyen.nes via un outil dédié à la prise de décision collaborative. L’enjeu n’était pas de reproduire le 15M à l’intérieur des institutions plus que d’introduire les citoyen.nes à ces débats ; en somme, il fallait créer un outil pédagogique facilitant l’engagement des citoyen.nes et leur donnant envie d’aller plus loin dans la quête de leur propre autonomie politique.

Dans ce contexte intellectuel militant, Decidim s’est présenté comme  l’outil numérique qui traduit en pratique la technopolitique en visant la responsabilisation progressive des citoyen.nes, à travers un Contrat social strict et des principes profondément démocratiques inscrits dans le code même de la plateforme

Pour Open Source Politics, l’enjeu est de taille ; il s’agit de conserver et diffuser l’état d’esprit profondément pédagogique qui fonde la création du logiciel tout en permettant son appropriation par des acteurs qui peuvent avoir des objectifs différents des activistes du 15M. Nous travaillons donc au quotidien pour que les plateformes numériques que nous lançons introduisent les gens à la technopolitique en offrant des espaces favorisant l’expression et la discussion, médiées par un cadre et des objectifs concertationnels ou laissées libres.

Diffuser une nouvelle culture du numérique

C’est précisément ce que nous avons voulu illustrer lors du Decidim Day le 12 septembre dernier. Cette journée d’ateliers, de plénières et de tables rondes organisée par notre équipe fut une belle occasion d’expliquer le terme de technopolitique à des oreilles françaises peu habituées, ainsi que d’illustrer notre propre conception de cette idée. 

Nous avons donc cherché à faire infuser les différentes réflexions soulevées par la technopolitique dans notre propre événement. La plénière d’inauguration devait permettre d’aborder deux approches différentes du rapport entre technologie et politique ; l’une à visée régulatrice développée à l’intérieur de l’Assemblée Nationale par Paula Forteza, l’autre construite patiemment et de manière décentralisée par Santiago Siri et l’équipe de Democracy Earth. 

Trois parcours ont ensuite orienté les échanges dans différentes directions. Nous avons eu l’occasion de questionner la place de l’Etat et des collectivités dans la construction et le soutien aux communs numériques mais également la pertinence de la diffusion de la technopolitique dans le secteur de l’entreprise et de l’émergence de nouveaux modes de gouvernance industrielle. Une table ronde dédiée s’est également demandée s’il était possible d’identifier les différents rôles que les citoyen.nes occupent et incarnent pendant les processus de participation. Fondamentalement technopolitique, cette discussion a pu entrer dans le vif du sujet. Quelle pédagogie, quel accompagnement pour amener les citoyen.nes à s’emparer des questions politiques via la technologie ?

Tout cela nous a encouragé à discuter également de l’émergence d’un réseau français des communs généraliste, afin d’ouvrir la réflexion technopolitique à d’autres acteurs issus d’autres milieux. L’élargissement de la discussion à des exemples d’outils numériques internationaux a aussi largement contribué à l’exhaustivité des points de vue sur le sujet. Enfin, la pédagogie devant se penser comme inclusive et destinée au plus large public possible, Open Source Politics souhaitait proposer des ateliers sur le thème de l’accessibilité, de l’inclusion numérique, de la synthèse et de l’auto-gouvernance.  

Enjeux technopolitiques Chantiers Decidim et OSP
Traitement de jeux de données massifs et synthèse des consultations Depuis 2017 nous investigons sur l'application du traitement automatique de la langue aux corpus de texte et de données issus des consultations. Relire nos articles à ce sujet sur Medium partie I et II.
Inclusion numérique et accessibilité Open Source Politics est sociétaire de la Mednum, la coopérative de l'inclusion numérique
Identité numérique - OSP développe un connecteur France Connect pour Decidim qui sera disponible cet automne 2019. - Decidim permet mettre en place des systèmes de vérification  d'identité contextuelle à l'action réalisée par l'utilisateur (vote sur une budget participatif) personnalisé.
Représentativité Decidim est l'une des seules plateforme à proposer un module de tirage au sort.
Décentralisation et sécurité de la donnée Decidim propose déjà un certain nombre de garanties pour la donnée que la plateforme génère (API, empreinte cryptographique des propositions etc.). Dans le cadre du projet Européen Decode, Decidim a pu experimenter avec la technologie blockchain pour effectuer des signatures électroniques.

Le positionnement critique de la technopolitique nous permet de penser et construire nos stratégies de participation et le développement de Decidim en fonction des enjeux actuels (inclusion, prise de décision décentralisée…). Il nous encourage également au quotidien à réfléchir à des questions de pointe sur le sujet de la participation citoyenne et à nous remettre continuellement en cause sur la finalité de Decidim tel qu’il est conçu et développé par OSP. Le Decidim Day fut une réussite, en partie car il a été l’occasion de démontrer notre méthode et d’inviter nos partenaires (présents et futurs) à prendre toute leur part dans cette méthode, en constante évolution.