Young people in New York now have their own participatory budget

The Civic Engagement Commission
(Commission on Civic Engagement: CEC) of the City of New York organizes a participatory budget dedicated to young people. Using theDecidim tool, they will be able to collectively decide how to allocate $100,000 to projects that meet their needs and interests and strengthen youth engagement across the city.

The project is a collaboration between Open Source Politics šŸ‡«šŸ‡·, Digidem Lab šŸ‡øšŸ‡Ŗ , Coro šŸ‡ŗšŸ‡ø, specialists in engaging youth audiences in New York, and Spruce Technology šŸ‡ŗšŸ‡ø.

BP Platform New York
New York x OSP

Where OSP comes in

For 8 months, we accompanied the Commission dedicated to Citizen Engagement (CEC) of the city of New York in the implementation of the participatory budget for young people.

In the midst of a pandemic, this first case of use in the United States has allowed us to understand and adapt to the culture of New York citizen participation inspired by community organizing . A strong emphasis is placed oninclusion by multiplying the modalities of participation, partnerships with local organizations to target marginalized audiences, systematic multilingualism etc.

In partnership with Digidem Lab, we organised a series of workshops and training sessions with the CEC team to frame each step of the participatory budget in the best possible way, to think about mobilisation mechanisms and to articulate the global project with the participation functionalities offered by the Decidim tool. This first project is part of a series of participatory budgets and a global approach to participation in New York City.

Thanks to the work of the consortium of partners and despite a pandemic context that questions traditional participatory processes, the participatory budget was successfully launched on 19 November 2020. We are delighted to welcome New York City to the Decidim community.

After organizing more than 10 participatory budgets on the Decidim tool, we have a proven structure and methodology. This first project with CEC allowed us to discover a different and innovative approach.

  • The structure of the site and the contents have been thought out and adapted for a young audience. The result: the statements are short and easy to understand, the navigation is uncluttered, the colours and visuals show the dynamism of the approach;
  • Several tools and participation channels are implemented to accommodate different audiences. SMS, video-conferencing, written proposals, short questionnaires... everything is done to ensure that everyone finds what they are looking for and that participation is pleasant and progressive;
  • Special emphasis is placed on mobilizing youth associations and collectives: participation spaces are dedicated to them, they can plan video-conferences with the organizers;
  • The young people will carry out the winning projects themselves.
Decidim by OSP

How we have
deployed Decidim

We have adapted the Decidim tool to these issues:

  • The process steps ensure transparency of the process between the inhabitants and the city;
  • Documentation areas provide equal access to information ;
  • The graphic charter created by a New York graphic designer has been declined on the site;
  • The New York City Digital Identity (NYC.ID) has been implemented to facilitate connections ;
  • The platform is available in dozens of languages to enable the participation of cosmopolitan New York youth;

This project will also be an opportunity for us to test the integration with the Pol.is tool we have developed. Pol.is allows us to collect and analyse contributions in real time thanks to advanced statistics and machine learning.

Image for post

See more projects

More than fifty organizations trust us

RCS Paris 820 412 161
32 rue des Cascades
75020 Paris (France)

contact@opensourcepolitics.eu

Discover our

newsletter!

Ā 

Your new monthly appointment on all the Decidim news in French and much more...

Ā 

Congratulations! You are now subscribed to our newsletter!

À New York les jeunes ont leur propre budget participatif

La Civic Engagement Commission
(Commission de l’Engagement Civique : CEC) de la ville de New York organise un budget participatif dédié aux jeunes. Grâce à l’outil Decidim, ils pourront décider  collectivement comment allouer 100 000 $ à des projets qui répondent à leurs besoins et leurs intérêts et qui renforcent l’engagement des jeunes dans toute la ville.

Ce projet est le fruit d’une collaboration entre Open Source Politics 🇫🇷,  Digidem Lab 🇸🇪 ,  Coro 🇺🇸, spécialistes de la mobilisation des publics jeunes à New york et Spruce Technology 🇺🇸.

Plateforme BP New York
New York x OSP

L’accompagnement
d’Open Source Politics

Nous avons accompagné pendant 8 mois la Commission dédiée à l’engagement citoyen (CEC) de la ville de New York dans la mise en place du budget participatif pour les jeunes.

En pleine pandémie, ce premier cas d’usage aux États-Unis nous a permis de comprendre et de nous adapter à la culture de la participation citoyenne new yorkaise inspirée du community organizing. Un fort accent est mis sur l’inclusion en multipliant les modalités de participation, les partenariats avec des organisations locales permettant de cibler les publics marginalisé, le multilinguisme systématique etc.

En partenariat avec Digidem Lab, nous avons organisé une série d’ateliers et de formations avec l’équipe de la CEC pour cadrer au mieux chaque étape du budget participatif, penser aux mécanismes de mobilisation et articuler le projet global avec les fonctionnalités de participation offertes par l’outil Decidim. Ce premier projet s’inscrit dans une série de budgets participatifs et dans une démarche globale de participation de la ville de New York.

Grâce au travail du consortium de partenaires et malgré un contexte de pandémie qui questionne les processus participatifs traditionnels, le lancement du budget participatif s’est effectué avec succès le 19 novembre 2020. Nous sommes ravi.e.s d’accueillir la ville de New York dans la communauté Decidim. 

Après avoir organisé plus de 10 budgets participatifs sur l’outil Decidim, nous disposons d’une structure et d’une méthodologie éprouvées. Ce premier projet avec la CEC nous a permis de découvrir une approche différente et innovante.

  • La structure du site et les contenus ont été pensés et adaptés pour un public jeune. Le résultat : les énoncés sont courts et faciles à comprendre, la navigation est épurée, les couleurs et les visuels font transparaître le dynamisme de la démarche ;
  • Plusieurs outils et canaux de participation sont mis en oeuvre pour accommoder les différents publics. SMS, vidéo-conférence, proposition écrites, courts questionnaires… tout est mis en œuvre pour que chacun.e y trouve son compte et  la participation soit rendue agréable et progressive ;
  • Un accent particulier est mis pour mobiliser les associations et les collectifs de jeunes : des espaces de participations leur sont dédiés, ils peuvent planifier des vidéo-conférence avec les organisateurs;
  • Les jeunes réaliseront eux-mêmes les projets lauréats.
Decidim by OSP

Comment nous avons
déployé Decidim

 Nous avons adapté l’outil Decidim à ces enjeux :

  • Les étapes permettent de garantir une transparence du processus entre les habitant.e.s et la ville ;
  • Les espaces de documentation donne un accès égal à l’information ;
  • La charte graphique créée par un graphiste new yorkais a été déclinée sur le site ;
  • L’identité numérique de la ville de New York (NYC.ID) a été mise en place pour faciliter les connexions ;
  • La plateforme est disponible en plusieurs dizaines de langues pour permettre la participation de la jeunesse cosmopolite new yorkaise ;

Ce projet sera également pour nous l’occasion de tester l’intégration avec l’outil Pol.is que nous avons développée. Pol.is permet de recueillir et d’analyser des contributions en temps réel grâce à des statistiques avancées et au machine learning.

Image for post

Voir plus de projets

Plus d’une cinquantaine d’organisations nous font confiance

RCS Paris 820 412 161
32 rue des Cascades
75020 Paris (France)

contact@opensourcepolitics.eu

Suivez nous !

Besoin d'une explication, d'une démo

Laissez nous votre contact nos équipes vous recontacterons dans les plus brefs délais pour fixer un rendez-vous.

Nous vous recontacterons au plus vite.