UIC Great Cities Institute launches a participatory budget for the city of Chicago

The UIC Great Cities Institute organizes the participatory budget of the city of Chicago.

Through theDecidim tool , each ward (Chicago neighborhood) will have its own dedicated space for its participatory budget and residents will collectively be able to allocate a budget envelope of approximately $1.5M per ward for projects that meet their needs and interests and that strengthen resident engagement throughout the city.

This project is a collaboration between Open Source Politics šŸ‡«šŸ‡· and Digidem Lab šŸ‡øšŸ‡ŖĀ 

ANCT Incubator

Accompaniment

of Open Source Politics

  • For the past 5 months, we have been supporting the Great Cities Institute UIC of the city of Chicago in the implementation of their participatory budget.
  • This second case of use in the United States (after New York) again places a strong emphasis oninclusion with a mobilization strategy unique to each ward.
  • In collaboration with Digidem Lab, we are setting up workshops and training sessions with the UIC team for a better management of the different stages of the participation budget, think about the mobilization mechanism, and configure the whole project through the participation function provided by the Decidim tool.
  • This first project is part of a series of participatory budgets and an overall participatory approach by the City of Chicago. Thanks to the work of the group of partners and despite a health context that forces the adaptation of traditional participatory processes, this series of workshops will lead to a launch of the platform this summer . Go to this page to find the link to the platform when it is completed. We are delighted to welcome the city of Chicago to the Decidim community.
  • We have acquired an efficient structure and method from our accumulated experience in organizingabout ten participatory budgets using Decidim tools. This project with UIC allowed us to renew inclusion practices and to adapt Decidim to a new context .
  • The structure of the site and the contents have been thought out and adapted for the 10 wards that will be active for the first phase. The result: each ward will have a space dedicated to its participatory budget with processes that differ in their stages, methods of participation, audiences and timeframe.

How we have

deployed Decidim

We adapt the Decidim tool to these challenges:

Ā 

  • The steps ensure transparency of the process between the inhabitants and the city;
  • Documentation areas provide equal access to information ;
  • The graphic charter will be adapted to each ward and will be declined on the platform;
  • The login and voting process will ensure an inclusive approach;
  • The platform will be available in dozens of languages to enable participation by Chicago's multilingual population;

See more projects

More than fifty organizations trust us

Open Source Politics

RCS Paris 820 412 161
32 rue des Cascades
75020 Paris (France)

contact@opensourcepolitics.eu

Follow us !

UIC Great Cities Institute lance un budget participatif pour la ville de Chicago

Le UIC Great Cities Institute organise le budget participatif de la ville de Chicago.

Grâce à l’outil Decidimchaque ward (quartier de Chicago) aura son espace dédié pour son budget participatif et les résidents pourront collectivement allouer une enveloppe budgétaire d’environ $1,5M par ward pour les projets qui répondent à leurs besoins et leurs intérêts et qui renforcent l’engagement des résidents dans toute la ville.

Ce projet est le fruit d’une collaboration entre Open Source Politics 🇫🇷 et Digidem Lab 🇸🇪 

Incubateur ANCT

L’accompagnement

d’Open Source Politics

  • Nous accompagnons depuis 5 mois mois le Great Cities Institute UIC de la ville de Chicago dans la mise en place de leur budget participatif.
  • Ce second cas d’usage aux États-Unis (après New York) met à nouveau un accent fort sur l’inclusion avec une stratégie de mobilisation unique à chaque ward.
  • En collaboration avec Digidem Lab, nous mettons en place des ateliers et des formations avec l’équipe UIC pour une meilleure gestion des différentes étapes du budget de participation, réfléchir au mécanisme de mobilisation, et configurer l’ensemble du projet à travers la fonction de participation fournie par l’outil Decidim .
  • Ce premier projet s’inscrit dans une série de budgets participatifs et dans une démarche globale de participation de la ville de Chicago. Grâce au travail du groupement de partenaires et malgré un contexte de sanitaire qui force l’adaptation des processus participatifs traditionnels, cette série d’ateliers aboutira à un lancement de la plateforme cet été. Rendez-vous sur cette page pour retrouver le lien de la plateforme quand elle sera aboutie. Nous sommes ravi.e.s d’accueillir la ville de Chicago dans la communauté Decidim.
  • Nous avons acquis une structure et une méthode efficaces du fort de notre expérience accumulée grâce à l’organisation d’une dizaine de budgets participatifs à l’aide des outils Decidim. Ce projet avec UIC nous a permis de renouveler des pratiques d’inclusion et d’adapter Decidim a un contexte nouveau. 
  • La structure du site et les contenus ont été pensés et adaptés pour les 10 wards qui seront actifs pour la première phase. Le résultat : chaque ward aura un espace dédié à son budget participatif avec des processus qui se différencient par leurs étapes, leurs méthodes de participation, leurs publics et leur calendrier.

Comment nous avons

déployé Decidim

Nous adaptons l’outil Decidim à ces enjeux :

 

  • Les étapes permettent de garantir une transparence du processus entre les habitant.e.s et la ville ;
  • Les espaces de documentation donne un accès égal à l’information ;
  • La charte graphique sera adapté à chaque ward et sera déclinée sur la plateforme ;
  • Le processus de connexion et de vote garantira une démarche inclusive ;
  • La plateforme sera disponible en plusieurs dizaines de langues pour permettre la participation de la population multilingue de Chicago ;

Voir plus de projets

Plus d’une cinquantaine d’organisations nous font confiance

Open Source Politics

RCS Paris 820 412 161 32 rue des Cascades 75020 Paris (France) contact@opensourcepolitics.eu

Suivez nous !

Besoin d'une explication, d'une démo

Laissez nous votre contact nos équipes vous recontacterons dans les plus brefs délais pour fixer un rendez-vous.

Nous vous recontacterons au plus vite.