The Citizens' Convention for Climate: a deliberative democracy experiment on a large scale

Citizens' Convention for Climate

150 randomly selected citizens, representative of the French population, gathered around an ambitious objective: define a series of measures to achieve at least a 40% reduction in greenhouse gas emissions by 2030 in the spirit of social justice.

A Decidim platform has been set up to allow members of civil society to express themselves by proposing ideas for measures. 

+ more than 3600 contributions have been submitted!

???? Raphaël: citizen online contributor
???? Greenfish: a company specialising in sustainable development that has submitted a verified contribution online

???? Agny: Citizen drawn from the Citizens' Convention for Climate

We will soon publish new videos of interviews with CCC actors. #StayTuned

The support of Open Source Politics

From the first session the need for a digital component for the Citizens' Convention emerged. With open source having been an imperative, Open Source Politicswas commissioned by the organizers of the CCC (Citizens' Convention for Climate) to rapidly set up a digital contribution platform based on Decidim.

We worked closely with the organizers to find the right means of online participation to preserve the work of the 150 randomly selected participants.

Once these points were agreed upon, we accompanied the convention throughout their endeavour by receiving the contributions of the organizations and producing the intermediate summaries that were collected before each face-to-face session.

The organisation of our teams allowed us to produce summaries quickly, to leave a maximum amount of time for citizens and external organisations to participate between sessions. In a few days, with our analysts and thanks to the Iramuteq software, quality summaries were delivered to the citizens of the Citizens' Convention for Climate.

How we deployed Decidim

With the platform contribute.conventioncitoyennepourleclimat.fr citizens and organisations who were not included in the selection were able to submit their contributions online and provide ideas for measures by categorising them under the various themes addressed: travel, food, housing, work and production, consumption, and a space for cross-cutting contributions.

Several consultation spaces have been created to accommodate each theme. In each of these spaces there were two areas of participation, one for citizen contributionsand another for organizations whose source was verified by the moderators prior to publication.

The Decidim platform was set up to inspire the 150 participants and not to influence them, the configuration of Decidim was adapted in this sense: votes and support were disabled and users could post a maximum of 3 contributions per topic.

Thus, throughout the duration of the Citizens' Convention for Climatemore than 3600 contributions of citizens and organizations were submitted online.

3 intermediate summaries were produced and put online on the platform so that the 150 participants could more easily read the contributions between each face-to-face session.

A new synthesis for the Citizens' Convention for Climate

A participatory platform for the Citizens' Climate Convention

The digital participation process that informed CCC

See more projects

More than fifty organizations trust us

Open Source Politics

RCS Paris 820 412 161
32 rue des Cascades
75020 Paris (France)

contact@opensourcepolitics.eu

Follow us !

Discover our

newsletter!

 

Your new monthly appointment on all the Decidim news in French and much more...

 

Congratulations! You are now subscribed to our newsletter!

La Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat : une expérience de la démocratie délibérative à grande échelle

convention Citoyenne pour le climat

150 citoyen.ne.s tiré.e.s au sort et représentatifs de la population française se sont réuni.e.s autour d’un objectif ambitieux : définir une série de mesures permettant d’atteindre une baisse d’au moins 40 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’ici 2030 dans un esprit de justice sociale.

Une plateforme Decidim a été mise en place pour permettre à la société civile de s’exprimer également en proposant des idées de mesures. 

+ de 3600 contributions ont été déposées !

📹 Raphaël : citoyen contributeur en ligne
📹 Greenfish : entreprise spécialisée dans le développement durable ayant déposé une contribution vérifiée en ligne

📽 Agny : Citoyenne tirée au sort de la Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat

Nous publierons très prochainement de nouvelles vidéos d’entretiens avec des acteurs de la CCC. #StayTuned 🤓

L’accompagnement d’Open Source Politics

Dès la première session le besoin d’un volet numérique pour la convention citoyenne a émergé. L’open source ayant été placé comme un impératif, Open Source Politics a été missionnée par les organisateurs de la CCC (Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat) pour mettre en place une plateforme de contribution numérique se basant sur Decidim et ce dans les plus brefs délais.

Nous avons travaillé en collaboration étroite avec les organisateurs afin de trouver les bonnes modalités de participation en ligne afin de préserver le travail des 150 tirés au sort.

Une fois fixé sur ces points, nous avons accompagné la convention tout du long de leurs aventures en réceptionnant les contributions des organisations et en réalisant les synthèses intermédiaires qui étaient remises en amont de chaque session présentielle.

L’organisation de nos équipes a permis de réaliser des synthèses de façon rapide, pour laisser un maximum de temps aux citoyen.ne.s et organisations extérieur.e.s pour participer entre les sessions. En quelques jours, avec nos analystes et grâce au logiciel Iramuteq, des synthèses de qualité ont pu être remises aux citoyen.ne.s de la Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat.

Comment nous avons déployé Decidim

Avec la plateforme contribuez.conventioncitoyennepourleclimat.fr, les citoyen.ne.s et les organisations ne faisant pas partie des tiré.e.s au sort ont pu déposer leurs contributions en ligne et apporter des idées de mesures en les catégorisant dans les différentes thématiques abordées : se déplacer, se nourrir, se loger, travailler et produire, consommer, et un espace de contributions transversales.

Plusieurs espaces de concertations ont ainsi été créés pour accueillir chaque thématique. Dans chacun de ces espaces se trouvaient deux entrées, une pour les contributions citoyennes, une autre pour celles des organisations dont la source était vérifiée par les modérateurs avant de les publier.

La plateforme Decidim a été mise en place pour inspirer les 150 et non pour les influencer, la configuration de Decidim a été adaptée dans ce sens : les votes et les soutiens ont été désactivés et les utilisateurs pouvaient déposer au maximum 3 contributions par sujet.

Ainsi, durant toute la durée de la Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat, plus de 3600 contributions de citoyen.ne.s et d’organisations ont été déposées en ligne.

3 synthèses intermédiaires ont été réalisées et mises en ligne sur la plateforme afin que les 150 puissent prendre connaissance plus facilement des contributions entre chaque session présentielle.

Une nouvelle synthèse pour la convention citoyenne pour le climat

Une plateforme participative pour la Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat

Le processus de participation numérique qui a alimenté la CCC

Voir plus de projets

Plus d’une cinquantaine d’organisations nous font confiance

Open Source Politics

RCS Paris 820 412 161
32 rue des Cascades
75020 Paris (France)

contact@opensourcepolitics.eu

Suivez nous !

Besoin d'une explication, d'une démo

Laissez nous votre contact nos équipes vous recontacterons dans les plus brefs délais pour fixer un rendez-vous.

Nous vous recontacterons au plus vite.