A new kind of experiment at the university

A new kind of experiment at the university

With the help of the Decidim platform, 138 students in a Master 2 in political science at theUniversity of Paris Est Créteil have the opportunity to co-construct a gender equality charter in anticipation of the opening of the International School of Political Studies in September 2020.

At the origin of the approach

Students concerned with participation

It was in the context of a course on civic tech that this initiative emerged: to build, by ensuring the participation of as many people as possible, a common regulatory reference framework for gender issues at the university - a decisive and meaningful first step in the construction of this future school. This common work is based on several functionalities made available by the platform which, arranged side by side, favour the emergence of a collective intelligence on the subject of gender equality and the inclusion of all. 


Three participatory tools:

To implement this participatory approach, three tools deployed by the platform were selected: 

  • A survey in the form of two questionnaires;
  • Spaces for debate around proposals put forward by the participants;
  • The participatory text feature for co-writing the charter.

The survey

The survey on gender inequalities in the institution is based on the questionnaire functionality of Decidim. The survey is divided into two separate parts on the following topics:  

  • General perception of gender inequality
  • Facts observed during your higher education studies 

The questions are mostly constructed according to the classic model of multiple choice questionnaires. The approach also allows participants to clarify their thoughts on certain questions that are conducive to a more detailed expression. This tailor-made arrangement makes it possible to frame the survey while leaving room for participants to express themselves freely within it. Only the administrator has the possibility to use the answers to the questionnaire. 

The debates 

The "debate" feature of Decidim allows the organisation of virtual discussion spaces around themes proposed directly by the participants. Each participant can choose to subscribe to the themes he or she wishes to follow, but also to contribute by exchanging comments.

Co-construction of the charter

Decidim's participatory text feature allows all participants to directly follow, support, comment or amend each part of the charter being co-constructed. Thus, the writing of the charter is no longer delegated to specific people. It becomes a collective work on which each participant has, individually, the possibility of bringing his contribution. A history of amendments is accessible for each paragraph in order to guarantee total transparency regarding the evolution of the text.

What contribution can the digital tool make to this process?

We asked Emilie Frenkiel, researcher at LIPHA, lecturer in political science at the University of Paris Est-Créteil and supervisor of the process, what contribution the Decidim platform made to this process:

Involving a hundred students in a collective reflection

» First of all, the tool allowed me to embark on this process. I could never have imagined involving a hundred students in a collective and prolonged reflection on the issues of inequality and sexism at the University without the possibilities offered by the platform. It has helped to redistribute the voice in the classroom, in the sense that it allows students who don't easily speak up in class or who are working or sick and can't attend to express themselves on issues that affect everyone.

Various features that open up the field of possibilities

The platform allows them to register under a pseudonym, which is very important for our subject. On the other hand, confirming the importance of design for the imaginary and concrete forms of the consultations, the different functionalities have opened up the field of possibilities even further, as far as I am concerned. I didn't know how to start the discussion and the platform allowed me to create a long questionnaire, less intended to collect data than to engage students to start or deepen their reflection on gender inequalities at the university, in general and according to their experience as witnesses, victims, participants in a sexist climate. I did not know what to expect from the online debate and did not anticipate so many free, accurate, reflective and relevant debates. 

participatory drafting of an equality charter

We are now engaged in the final stage of the consultation: the participatory drafting of a charter for equality that will be implemented in the International School of Political Studies that will open in the autumn. Without the platform, which allows us to modify and comment on the charter step by step and at different paces within a few weeks, this level of reflection, collaboration and deliberation would not have been possible. »

Discover our

newsletter!

 

Your new monthly appointment on all the Decidim news in French and much more...

 

Congratulations! You are now subscribed to our newsletter!

Expérience d’un nouveau genre à l’université

Expérience d’un nouveau genre à l’université

À l’aide de la plateforme Decidim, 138 étudiants en Master 2 en science politique de l‘Université Paris Est Créteil ont la possibilité de co-construire une charte de l’égalité homme/femme en prévision de l’ouverture de l’Ecole Internationale d’Etudes Politiques en septembre 2020.

À l’origine de la démarche

Des étudiants concernés par la participation

C’est dans le cadre d’un cours sur la Civic tech qu’émerge cette initiative : bâtir, en s’assurant de la participation du plus grand nombre, un référentiel réglementaire commun encadrant les enjeux de genre à l’université – soit une première pierre décisive et forte de sens dans la construction de cette future école. Cette œuvre commune s’appuie sur plusieurs fonctionnalités mises à disposition par la plateforme qui, agencées côte à côte, favorisent l’émergence d’une intelligence collective au sujet de l’égalité homme/femme et de l’inclusion de toutes et de tous. 


Trois outils participatifs :

Pour mettre en œuvre cette démarche participative, trois outils déployés par la plateforme ont été sélectionnés : 

  • Une enquête sous forme de deux questionnaires ;
  • Des espaces de débats autour de propositions émises par les participants ;
  • La fonctionnalité de texte participatif pour une co-rédaction de la charte. 

L’enquête

L’enquête sur les inégalités homme/femme au sein de l’établissement repose sur la fonctionnalité “questionnaire” de Decidim. L’enquête est divisée en deux parties distinctes sur les sujets suivants :  

  • Perception générale des inégalités hommes/femmes
  • Faits observés aux cours de vos études supérieures 

Les questions sont pour la plupart construites selon le modèle classique des questionnaires à choix multiples. La démarche permet également aux participant·es de préciser leur pensée sur certaines questions propices à une expression plus fine et détaillée. Cet agencement sur mesure permet de cadrer l’enquête tout en laissant la place aux participants de s’exprimer librement au sein de celle-ci. Seul·e l’administrateur·ice dispose de la possibilité d’exploiter les réponses au questionnaire. 

Les débats 

La fonctionnalité “débat” de Decidim permet d’organiser des espaces de discussion virtuels autour de thèmes proposés directement par les participants. Chacun ou chacune peut choisir de s’abonner aux thèmes qu’il ou elle souhaite suivre, mais aussi apporter sa contribution par les échanges en commentaires.

La co-construction de la charte

La fonctionnalité de texte participatif de Decidim donne la possibilité à tous les participants de directement suivre, soutenir, commenter ou encore amender chaque partie de la charte en cours de co-construction. Ainsi, l’écriture de la charte n’est plus déléguée à certaines personnes précises. Elle devient une œuvre collective sur laquelle chaque participants a, individuellement, la possibilité d’apporter sa contribution. Un historique des amendements est accessible pour chaque paragraphe afin de garantir une totale transparence quant aux évolutions du texte.

Quel apport de l’outil numérique pour cette démarche ?

Nous avons demandé à Emilie Frenkiel, chercheuse au LIPHA, maîtresse de conférences en sciences politiques à l’université Paris Est-Créteil et encadrante de la démarche, quel a été l’apport de la plateforme Decidim dans cette démarche : 

Impliquer une centaine d’étudiant dans une réflexion collective

 » Tout d’abord, l’outil m’a autorisée à me lancer dans cette démarche. Je n’aurais jamais pu concevoir d’impliquer une centaine d’étudiants dans une réflexion collective et prolongée sur les questions d’inégalités et de sexisme à l’Université sans les possibilités offertes par la plateforme. Cela a permis de redistribuer la parole dans la classe, au sens où cela permet à des étudiant.e.s qui ne prennent pas facilement la parole en cours ou qui travaillent ou sont malades et ne peuvent y assister de s’exprimer sur des questions qui touchent tout le monde. 

Différentes fonctionnalités qui ouvrent le champs des possibles

La plateforme leur permet de s’enregistrer sous un pseudonyme, ce qui est très important pour notre sujet. D’autre part, en confirmation de l’importance du design pour l’imaginaire et les formes concrètes des consultations, les différentes fonctionnalités ont encore ouvert le champ des possibles, en ce qui me concerne. Je ne savais pas comment lancer la discussion et la plateforme m’a permis de créer un long questionnaire, moins destiné à recueillir des données que d’engager les étudiant.e.s à débuter ou approfondir leur réflexion sur les inégalités de sexe à l’université, en général et d’après leur expérience de témoins, victimes, participant.e.s à un climat sexiste. Je ne savais pas quoi attendre du débat en ligne et n’avais pas anticipé des débats aussi nombreux, libres, précis, réflexifs et pertinents. 

la rédaction participative d’une charte pour l’égalité

Nous sommes maintenant engagé.e.s dans la dernière étape de la consultation : la rédaction participative d’une charte pour l’égalité qui sera mise en vigueur dans l’Ecole internationale d’études politiques qui ouvrira à la rentrée. Sans la plateforme, qui nous autorise à modifier et commenter pas à pas et à différents rythmes la charte dans l’espace de quelques semaines, ce niveau de réflexion, collaboration et délibération n’aurait pas été atteignable. »

Besoin d'une explication, d'une démo

Laissez nous votre contact nos équipes vous recontacterons dans les plus brefs délais pour fixer un rendez-vous.

Nous vous recontacterons au plus vite.